sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Discussion of the 700p.

Moderator:kocoman

prominator
Minion
Posts:23
Joined:Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:21 am
sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by prominator » Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:30 am

i have a virgin mobile phone that i want to replace with my new sprint treo.
virgin mobile does not except new ESN (like verison)
so can i clone my older virgin mobile into my treo 700p??

kocoman
Techie
Posts:91
Joined:Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:15 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by kocoman » Sun Sep 30, 2007 10:39 pm

Clone the Virgin ESN into the Treo using my method.

In the USA, the AKEY is used I think. So you have to do the *228. If it doesn't work, you have to call Customer service and tell them you can't use your phone, they would do something and tell you to do the *228 again.
If you can receive/send calls fine then don't need to worry about AKEY.
Also EVDO doesn't work unless I figure out how to edit the settings for the AAA RADIUS server thinggy.

How to make treo to run on other network by ESN repair
Perquisites:

1. Treo 700P handset
2. USB data cable
3. MTTY 1.42
4. Treo 650 boot loader driver
5. SD / MMC card. Do not use Mini / Micro SD with adaptor as mentioned on palm site. I dont know. I used MMC card.
6. Resco explorer to copy files from ROM to SD card.
7. CDMA updater program files

Attached RAR file contains:

1. Drivers
2. MTTY 1.42
3. Resco explorer
4. CDMA updater (Attached for sprint, I tested same file from verizon on my sprint phone and it works so this file must work on verizon too.)

How to do it:

1. Insert you SD card in to treo, treo will automatically create file system. Where you will see following folder tree Palm -> Launcher, all .prc files or programmes are to be copied in launcher folder. Alternatively you can hotsync these two file to your device too. If you choose hot syncing, remember to uninstall hotsync and reboot your computer, else your phone may not be detected

2. Copy CDMA updater .prc program file and *_en*.oprc language files to launcher folder of memory card.

3. Launch CDMAFirmwareUpdater.prc after a while, white screen, it will lauch, press butten similar to right click, it is bottom right button, next to ALT key, select debug, select Backup NV option, unselect all other options. and run UPDATE now.

4. After some time it will say that backup sucessful etc.

5. Launch Resco explorer, go to Drive Named RAM0 and find CDMA NV BACKUP.PDB, copy it to SD card.

6. Download file to your computer.

Here is next step to write ESN to back up file and its very important.

1. Open file with any hex editor, in my phone back up I found important data at following address:

SPC: If you want your phone to programmed by *228, then this is important code: 0000F770
MSL, this code is used to access phone nam programming: 0000F670
ESN: Esn found 3 locations, I dont know why, but when I made mistake on one location, phone kept on rebooting when I entered ##MSL# code. SO I changed ESN at all locations. ESN is in reverse

1: 0000CF00
2. 0000CFA0
3. 0000EA40

Copy modified file to Memory card.

Once you update all this, means you have prepared necessary stuff to repair SN on handset.

Then

1. Install bootloader driver.

2. Connect your handset to PC with USB cable. Press button on hotsync cable for a while, Once you get message that palm hot sync detected, dial ##UPST# and phone will be in boot loader mode.

3. Your computer will detect USBSYNC hardware.

4. Launch MTTY 1.42, select USB port and start.

5. Once connected type

cdmar bl usb

It will answer:
+CDMARouterCommnad...CDMA Mode = bl, PC Port = usb, CDMA Uart Speed = 115200

Type: nverase
Answer: Identify INTEL Combo Flash !



Identify INTEL Combo Flash !

********************************



Erase NV Item Data Done!

CDMA DBG>

Now done, Reboot phone, by disconnecting and removing battery.

Once phone is rebooted:

Insert memory card.
Launch Resco explorer
Copy back file from memory card to RAM0, when asked, overwrite existing file.
Lauch CDMA updater, and select debug, uncheck all option except restore NV.
Check and verify MSL by dialing ##MSLCODE# and ESN in phone -> option -> phone info.

Once NV back up is restored, you are done, you have NEW SN, SPC and MSL on handset. you can dial *228 to activate or PRL update as supported by your operator.

If you have MIN available with you then:

dial ##MSL# and edit Mobile number to your MIN and MSID to your MIN.

dial ##data# and select advance

Options Required:

1. Vocoder EVRC=1 (Most digital network support EVRC)
2. Home NID: Your operators NID code
Home NID: Your operators SID code
MCC: Your contry code
MNC: Your mobile network code


Special thanks to Kocoman for being very helpful in teaching me this and guiding me. This guide is posted with his permission.
6b 6f 63 6f 6d 61 6e 20 6f 66 20 63 64 6d 61 2d 64 65 76 2d 74 65 61 6d

prominator
Minion
Posts:23
Joined:Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:21 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by prominator » Mon Oct 01, 2007 6:39 pm

.......
Last edited by prominator on Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kocoman
Techie
Posts:91
Joined:Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:15 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by kocoman » Tue Oct 02, 2007 1:18 am

You don't need to mod cable/bitpim, just use the usb cable that came with your palm
6b 6f 63 6f 6d 61 6e 20 6f 66 20 63 64 6d 61 2d 64 65 76 2d 74 65 61 6d

prominator
Minion
Posts:23
Joined:Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:21 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by prominator » Tue Oct 02, 2007 1:40 am

can you send the files to do this hack
i could not find cdmaupdater anyware
prominator411@gmail.com

kocoman
Techie
Posts:91
Joined:Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:15 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by kocoman » Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:26 am

Search the thread at mobile-files.com (700p Esn repair solution)
6b 6f 63 6f 6d 61 6e 20 6f 66 20 63 64 6d 61 2d 64 65 76 2d 74 65 61 6d

prominator
Minion
Posts:23
Joined:Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:21 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by prominator » Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:59 am

.....
Last edited by prominator on Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

prominator
Minion
Posts:23
Joined:Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:21 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by prominator » Tue Oct 02, 2007 2:38 pm

.......
Last edited by prominator on Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

prominator
Minion
Posts:23
Joined:Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:21 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by prominator » Tue Oct 02, 2007 7:55 pm

ok did it and it work
thanks alot dude

what cool programs do you have in your palm?
are there drivers for wireless card on 700p

kocoman
Techie
Posts:91
Joined:Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:15 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by kocoman » Wed Oct 03, 2007 11:33 am

prominator wrote:ok did it and it work
thanks alot dude

what cool programs do you have in your palm?
are there drivers for wireless card on 700p
I don't have any cool programs, because I use the Treo 700p for research. (always hard resetting/flashing firmware)

Download USB Modem Retail v1.56 from c4pda.com, inside has the driver for Windows.
6b 6f 63 6f 6d 61 6e 20 6f 66 20 63 64 6d 61 2d 64 65 76 2d 74 65 61 6d

prominator
Minion
Posts:23
Joined:Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:21 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by prominator » Wed Oct 03, 2007 1:16 pm

i was looking for the SD wireless card drivers

what are some other cool hacks for treo 700p??

kocoman
Techie
Posts:91
Joined:Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:15 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by kocoman » Thu Oct 04, 2007 3:00 pm

prominator wrote:i was looking for the SD wireless card drivers

what are some other cool hacks for treo 700p??
I don't think anyone got SD Wifi card working... thats why everyone is using EVDO/1X instead.. but then they can't receive calls..!!
you can check the other forums, but Treos are pretty much dead. even shadowmite is using iphone. even I am using mac..

I just use palm because I find symbian (nokia) so slow, and I am a anti-windows person..
Just wait till palm release the linux os and see.. otherwize don't upgrade, its not useful. I don't have any microsd card for 755p/centero/500 etc anyways, and I don't like gsm because it always make those sounds to TV/computer speakers when calls come in/checking.

Again, the 700p is my main phone and also the phone I am researching on. so there is not much more I am willing/test to try unless I have a spare one for some reason. its already going with the earpiece.. if it goes totally I will not be using palm anymore (because of lack of update to bluetooth and closed-source system that I don't know how to reverse enginneer/debug)

My next phone would be linux based CDMA.. we will see if Palm deliver one ... iphone alrelady is linux based, but too bad its gsm.
6b 6f 63 6f 6d 61 6e 20 6f 66 20 63 64 6d 61 2d 64 65 76 2d 74 65 61 6d

prominator
Minion
Posts:23
Joined:Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:21 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by prominator » Thu Oct 04, 2007 10:13 pm

how do i get out of roaming
cause my phone says roaming all the time?

kocoman
Techie
Posts:91
Joined:Sat Oct 21, 2006 7:15 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by kocoman » Fri Oct 05, 2007 11:37 am

prominator wrote:how do i get out of roaming
cause my phone says roaming all the time?
1) check your SID in ##DATA, ADVANCED to make sure its your carrier (Sprint),
(Verizon/Telus) is ##MSL, see your SID.

I don't know if Virgin Mobile (Canada or USA??) has it or not.... you need to update the prl via a 'patched' cdmaupdater with 00's padding at the end with your prl (you can take one off from some v3 or someting, but I never try before) or a *2280x update if your carrier supports it (you also need to change the ##PREV if necessary). I will write the howto later when I have time.

In Canada, Virgin uses Bell, I don't know what MNVO? Virgin uses in USA

Using the sprint/verizon PRLs included with the cdmaupdater will always roam.. unless your ESN/carrier you are cloning is sprint/verizon.. otherwise you have to patch the PRL too. I mentioned this in the longer/hard to understand howto before.
6b 6f 63 6f 6d 61 6e 20 6f 66 20 63 64 6d 61 2d 64 65 76 2d 74 65 61 6d

prominator
Minion
Posts:23
Joined:Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:21 am

Re: sprint treo 700p to virgin mobile

Post by prominator » Fri Oct 05, 2007 12:24 pm

i fix the roaming thing by cdmaupdater update prl

virgin mobile in the usa uses the sprint network
it says in their web site

how do i get the internet working?? on my phone

Post Reply